Notice: Undefined variable: nb in /data/metal-ways_com/www/interview.php on line 32
Metal Ways - Anette Olzon's Shine Review @ (Album review) 22.03.2014

Metal Ways - Your media and pictures resource for female fronted metal bands.

Anette Olzon's Shine Review @ (Album review, EN) - 22.03.2014

Today we present you the review of the first solo album of former Nightwish singer Anette Olzon, which will be released on march 31st. The album, entitled "Shine", makes us discover a whole new style that is very different of her previous perfomances.

Click below to read the review.


Anette Olzon - Shine
Different from anything that we have heard of her so far, former Nightwish singer Anette Olzon's first solo album, which will be released on march 31st, takes a musical direction closer to Rock than Metal. We are given the opportunity to listen to a different style that perfectly exposes Anette's vocal abilities. Varying between powerful and peaceful, the tracks take us on a journey through life's ups and downs and create various feelings that one might be able to identify with.


This is notably reflected by songs such as Shine, Lies and Watching me from Afar. Shine, for instance, advises us to go on with our lives despite the difficulties that we might have to put up with, no matter how hard they seem to be. This comforting track assures us that we are not alone in this.


Lies is teaching us more about deceptions that accompany us throughout our existence. We can literally feel the energy that this track is diffusing. This is greatly due to the powerful, spirit-lifting musical accompaniment.

Similar to Lies, Watching me from Afar has this same powerful, capturing effect but illustrated rather through its melodical play, which we could associate to enchantement. We can feel its magic. This final track of the album is leading us into a spiritual and peaceful ambience, that leaves us with a desire to listen to it all over again.
A track that doesn't seem to fit to the rest of the album is Floating. In comparison to the other tracks, the musical change is standing out, and one might find that it could have been an experiment within Anette's new style. The instruments that have been chosen almost have an asian approach.

The album has a slight nordic touch in terms of music. The orchestral accompaniment contributes a great amount to the ambience that is created. Shine is a pleasure to listen to, a nice piece of work and a discovery worth making, despite its seemingly short length, including only 10 tracks in total.



Anette Olzon official website: http://www.anette-olzon.com

News


22.03.2014: All new review of Anette Olzon's Shine available now online!

11.04.2010: All new interview of Krypteria available here!

01.05.2009: A new interview of Martijn Westerholt from Delain is available here!

27.02.2009: A new interview of Candice and Staif from Eths is available here!

12.02.2009:
ALL NEW LAYOUT!!!
We hope you like it!

30.12.2008: A new interview of Ivar De Graaf from Kingfisher Sky is available here!

14.09.2008: A new interview of Robert Westerholt from Within Temptation is available here!

22.07.2008: New photo gallery! Now you can can comment pictures and browse them more easily. Try it for Delain!

16.06.2008: Read our new interview of Anneke van Giersbergen from the band Agua de Annique here!

15.06.2008: Two new interviews have been added.
We talked to Chibi and Rainbow from The Birthday Massacre. Read it here!
Charlotte Wessels, from Delain, also answered our questions. Read it here!

17.04.2008: We are currently working on the Metal-ways.com database. You may encounter some small problems but they won't last!

06.04.2008: Today, Metal-ways.com celebrates its first birthday!

04.02.2008: Shoutbox
Now, you can find a shoutbox on Metal-Ways homepage. You can comment on anything you want, as long as it's respectful!

03.09.2007: After Forever's interview is online!
Floor Jansen answered our questions just before Sander's comeback on stage after a 4 months long absence. See After Forever's interview

17.08.2007: Krypteria's and TheNAMe's interviews at Summer Darkness are online!!!

08.08.2007: New equipment and new gallery style!
> During the Nirwana's Tuinfeest, we were able to test our new camera. We'll try to use this one from now on.

03.05.2007: Delain's interview in Lille online!!!
Charlotte and Martijn answered our questions before their first show in France.
Check Delain's interview in the Delain category.

06.04.2007: Metal-ways.com is finally online!!!
Enjoy it, and don't hesitate to report errors, broken links, or suggestions!

Find Metal-Ways on...

Agenda


Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone. in /data/metal-ways_com/www/includes/colonne_droite.php on line 113
No gig planned.
Copyright © 2007-
Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone. in /data/metal-ways_com/www/includes/disclaimer.php on line 3
2018 Metal-ways.com. All Rights Reserved.
No part of this web site, including photos and videos, may be copied, transferred, posted, published or reproduced in any form without prior written approval of the site owners.